Creator of exception since 1930

1930

Constantin Samard inherited his passion for leather from a family in which three generations dedicated themselves to saddlery and horse equipment. In 1930, he set up his own company in Vincennes near Paris and quickly specialized in luggage.

1936

Always ahead of his time, Constantin Samard invents the Cabas bag and starts using “toile enduite”, a special wax-coated cloth, to make large bags for shopping in France, thus inventing the French “tote bag”, used by millions of housewives around the world.

Moreover, he designs and sells the first beach bag, a contribution to the millions of workers gaining access to paid holidays in France. The success was immediate with many requests to increase the line of this new bag.

History
sac 550x550px

1960

Suitcases and other travel bags aimed at the first transatlantic and other long-haul air travelers, were added to the historic Cabas and beach bags.

1987

Stephan Arnal, the grandson of Constantin Samard, takes over the family business together with Léo Smaga, whom he met at school. Their friendship and common passion for traditional craftsmanship and fashion enable them to relaunch the company and its iconic manufacturing.

They take on the company’s heritage and add French elegance, innovative materials and colors that burst with life. Finally, they give a name to their new collections: RECIFE Paris.

Today

RECIFE has become a global brand which accompanies modern men and women in their everyday life.
Our collections of writing instruments, leather goods and accessories are expressing “joy de vivre”, innovation, creativity and traditional craftsmanship.

0

Créateur d’exception depuis 1930

1930

Constantin SAMARD hérite de la passion de la sellerie dans une famille où trois générations se succèdent dans la fabrication de selles et d’harnachements pour chevaux. Il crée en 1930 son propre atelier à Vincennes aux abords de Paris et très vite, il se spécialise dans la bagagerie.

1936

Constantin SAMARD innove et invente le sac « cabas ». Créateur du cabas à provisions « à la française » que des millions de ménagères adopteront à travers le monde, il est aussi le premier à avoir l’idée d’utiliser de la toile enduite pour fabriquer ses cabas.

Toujours précurseur, c’est à l’occasion des congés payés qu’il conçoit et fabrique le premier sac de plage. Le succès est immédiat et de nombreuses demandes parviennent à l’atelier pour décliner ce nouveau sac.

Histoire
sac 550x550px

1960

Valises et autres bagages destinés aux grands voyageurs des transatlantiques et des premiers vols long-courriers rejoignent les historiques cabas et sacs de plage.

1987

Stéphan ARNAL, petit-fils de Constantin SAMARD, reprend l’entreprise familiale avec Léo SMAGA qu’il à rencontrer sur les bancs de l’école. Leur amitié et leur passion partagée pour le savoir-faire artisanal et la mode leur permettent de relancer l’entreprise et ses fabrications cultes.

Ils reprennent l’héritage culturel de la marque en y associant élégance française, matières innovantes et couleurs débordantes de vie. Ils donnent un nom à leurs nouvelles collections d’accessoire : RECIFE Paris.

Aujourd’hui

Récife est devenue une marque globale qui accompagne l’homme et la femme moderne au quotidien. Nos collections d’écriture, de maroquinerie et d’accessoires conjuguent joie de vivre, innovations, créativité et savoir-faire ancestral.